1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

SWR Super Redhead help please...you probably already know what I'm going to ask :)

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Anthem Midnight, Apr 20, 2009.

1. Anthem Midnight

Anthem Midnight

Apr 20, 2009
    Hello everyone.

Yep. New poster on this forum. Love how helpful everyone is. Thanks for reading this.

So i have the SWR classic setup - Super Redhead & a big bertha underneath. BUT YOU GUESSED IT! I popped one of the PAS 10s up top, which now farts and buzzes from a ripped cone.

SWR had nothing for me. There were a slew of threads on Eminence Delta 10s vs. Kappa 10s etc. My question is, has anybody had a 100% positive experience installing new 10" drivers in their redhead, and if so, which 10s???

I'm a metal bassist and love the tone but need more SPL handling out of my 10s. Any help would be amazing!

Thanks guys!

Mike

2. uaudio

uaudio

Apr 11, 2008
    Arizona
    Why not just recone? Those speakers are soooo nice with that combo...used to have one.

EDIT: Ah, well, replacing drivers to get "more volume" is always the trick innit?

3. Anthem Midnight

Anthem Midnight

Apr 20, 2009
    Reconing is Definitely an option, but if anybody has the drop on better 10s I can push harder I would LOVE to hear.

Thanks for posting dude!

4. I would totally stick with a recone but that's just my opinion..

5. Harpo61

Harpo61

Dec 15, 2000
    Tampa Bay
    I use to have Orginal Redhead that I had put a set of Eminence Basslite CH2010 which worked well for The PAS sounded great put they don't like to be pushed to hard I have known to many people the have fried there speakers

6. wvbass

wvbass Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2004
    West Virginia
    I've had both my drivers reconed by SWR (pre fender). I'm real close to having one need done again.