1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

SWR Workingman's 12

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by troubdrgrl, May 13, 2010.

1. Tube amps, only way to go

1 vote(s)
    16.7%
  2. Solid state OK for a particular amp

4 vote(s)
    66.7%
  3. How many watts for small clubs and practice size

1 vote(s)
    16.7%
  4. Alternative amps to SWR Working Man's 12 (suggest)

3 vote(s)
    50.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. troubdrgrl

troubdrgrl

May 13, 2010
    I've been playing all my life but am new to bass. Just got a vintage Mustang and a friend I trust (Bass player) says this amp would work great for me. I notice they've discontinued this model but I'd love a used one. Alternatively any thoughts on the "Working Pro" they've replaced it with (was hoping not to spend that much since I'm just getting started on bass for a certain project). Thanks

2. Dan Knowlton

Dan Knowlton Sarcasm: Just ONE of the many services I offer! Supporting Member

Aug 12, 2002
    Palm Coast, FL
    Nice practice amp, but....not enough power for gigging. I used mine for a monitor and went through the PA at church but no way that is going to be loud enough if you rock.

Just my $0.000000002

Dan K.

3. bmc

bmc

Nov 15, 2003
    Switzerland
    Roland CB100 if you can't find the SWR. Same power. Can be used for small gigs. A ton of features. Versatile and rugged.

Good luck

4. gregoire1

gregoire1

Oct 19, 2008
    Nashville
    They were great sounding amps and are available used often enough. The Workingman 15 is 160w (I think), louder than the 12, which I think was 100w. These combos have always been on my "someday' list.

5. bobwhite

bobwhite

Mar 11, 2010