SX basses?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Nellsalot, Dec 24, 2004.

1. Ultimately I want a used Rickenbacker but I'm having a tough time locating one and I've seen these SX Fender copies on the Rondo Music site and there seem to be only positive comments about this series of guitars. It might not be a bad idea to get one of these while I continue my search for a Ric, or just so I can have a Fender-style bass for variety, considering how cheap they are.

Here's my main question: Is the reason everyone is so happy with this company mostly because it's a great price? I'm on a tight budget but I definitely want to be happy with the tone and feel of my instrument, otherwise I'll just stick with the bass I have (which I'm not terribly happy with, but is vintage and unique and will not lose its value, unlike the SX). So what I mean is, I don't want to buy the bass just because it's cheap and functional - I want a guitar that I like. I'm not professional but I'm not a beginner and I can tell the difference with a nice guitar.

And as a follow up to that question, what can I lose by buying one of these basses just to try it out and return it if I don't like it? Other than a $20-$30 shipping charge, that is. I live in CA and can hardly try it out in the store in NJ.
  2. Hmmm.

How you like the SX depends on the model and on your expectations. If you're expecting a $1000 instrument for $100 it's not going to happen. On the other hand SX/Brice basses are in general very good. One weakness, for some people, tend to be the wiring/pots/pickups. Some people like them stock, other people prefer to mod/replace them. One fairly major determining factor in quality is the price. While the $100 basses are ok if you spend a few dollars more you'll be much happier with the product.