1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

SX Ursa 3 RN CAR Review + Mod.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by mh6string, Mar 18, 2010.

1. mh6string

mh6string

Mar 18, 2010
    First of all I'm new to this forum, and I'm a guitarist. I have a need for an affordable 4 string bass for recording, and this forum was an excellent source of information...thanks !!!

I am not new to Rondo, having purchased and modded some guitars from there with excellent results. I also have owned some basses in the past, but have always given them away to "real" bass players, or sold them following recording ventures...my loss...(besides, I have way too many guitars already!).

I figured after receiving so much good information here at this forum, it was the least I could do to review and post some quick pics.

I purchased the SX Ursa 3 RN CAR ...nice !! Great finish, and played great out of the box. Of course there is setup to be done....right ?!....but prior to the initial setup, it played real nice !
    - Neck...straight and true, perfectly functional truss. A little lemon oil, and fret cleaning...done.
    - Frets...Chinese dirty, but well dressed, no sharp edges, zero fret outs, cannot complain.
    - Body...Super nice metalic deep red (metalic, not super sparkly metal flake)...but a nice deep red metalic, with nice depth .(color almost exactly as pictured at Rondo), http://www.rondomusic.com/product828.html
    - Sound...acoustically has a nice ring and sustain, plugged in , sounds good with stock pups. The P pup(s) are dead quiet, the J hums 60 hz. pretty bad.
    - Balance and weight are real nice.
    - Pickguard....3 ply (BWB)...but, a matt finish..I like it.