Tab Reading Help

Discussion in 'Tablature and Notation [BG]' started by killer_j27, Jan 11, 2006.

1. killer_j27

killer_j27 Guest

Dec 28, 2005
    Bethany Ontario
    Hey everyone im a brand new bassist and I have not started taking lessons yet. (I Am in the near future) And I have found many tabs to songs that I would like to play but I am having a hard time reading them and understanding how fast and slow to play the notes etc. etc.

Heres an example of what I mean

This Is the tabs for the song The Crimson By Atreyu

Verse 1
    C|-77777777-33333333-55555555 x4

Verse 2

Okay first off I don’t even hear the bass In the intro (it must be there but I cant hear it) so I don’t know how to play those notes.

And in the verse 1 I don’t know how fast to play the notes. I listen to the song but it is somewhat challenging to hear exaclty how fast the notes are played.

And In Verse 2 I am having the same problem but I don’t have as hard of a time hearing the notes.

Thanks In Advance For All Your Help Everyone
  2. Well, I don't know what style atreyu is, but if they're anything resembling hard rock, chances are the bass will be 'doubling' (doing the same thing as) the guitarist(s).

As for not knowing how fast to play the notes, that's the problem with tab, there is no rythmic information given, so you have to sit down with the tab and the song and nut it out. It's always better to try it by ear first, even if you don't/can't get it, you'll have better understanding when looking at the tab.

Good luck,
  3. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member

According to the tab you have, the bass is played in the Intro. Your bass is to be tuned CGCF, a low tuning I used when I played in a nu-metal band. You are told to fret the seventh, third and fifth frets of the lowest C-string..the E-string which is tuned to C.