1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Tabs and lyrics

Discussion in 'Tablature and Notation [BG]' started by bigboybubby, Mar 6, 2010.

1. bigboybubby

bigboybubby

Mar 6, 2010
    Australia
    Hi all - I am a newbie from Australia and whilst I played drums for many years, I decided to give the bass a go. I do not want to be good at it, I just want to be able to read a few good tabs and play along with my kids (21yo - Drummer, 18yo guitar and 14yo keyboard). I have got some tabs from the web and listen to the song and 99% of the time, I cant marry them up. My 18yo reads music and he can do it but his found a girlfriend now and is hard to pin down. I have found one tab which had the lyrics above the tab and that made it much better. Is there somewhere where I can get more tabs with the lyrics or is there any suggestions (ps I have only been playing for 2 weeks - 5 hours).
    My son told me about Bass Power Tab software but I cant find any tabs to use with it. I will get lessons but any help for now would be so much appreciated. Continued new message

2. bigboybubby

bigboybubby

Mar 6, 2010
    Australia
    I wanted to also say - there are hundreds of online tutorials for teaching the bass. Are these any good and if so which is the best one to subscribe to - Cheers and thanks
    Darreb

3. try ultimate guitar,songsterr,bassmasta,guitar/bass mag back issues,or list specific titles in the tab forum....if you read dots there's lots out there

4. If you're using Power Tab, they moved the tabs to http://www.tablibrary.com/index.php. HTH :)

5. http://studybass.com seems to be one of the better places for some all-round ideas

6. With tabs and standard notation you play what the songwriter had in mind for this song. Which is not all that bad.

But to mess around with the kids playing chord tones is a lot faster, and easier. Of course IMHO.