Tabs vs. Notation

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by AshleyForscyth, Mar 15, 2002.

1. AshleyForscyth

AshleyForscyth Guest

Mar 15, 2002
    :confused: I've been playing bass for about 13 months, everyone I know, most of whome have been playing bass for 10+ years, have told me not to bother learning traditional notation. That it wont help me in the studio or anywhere like that. But as I've been reading these threads I've noticed that a lot of people talk about notation like everyone should know it. I'm completely confused now, should I learn it?
  2. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    Your friends are bull****ting you.
    It may be true that you don't have to read standard notation on EVERY studio date, but you'll NEVER encounter tab anywhere on a gig or session.
    You will at least need to be able to read chord charts on a job, and you need to know your theory for that, and that includes standard notation.

Notation is a tool to communicate music information, tab is just a way to tell you where to put your fingers. You'll only find tab in magazines, some books and the internet, but not in a gig or studio situation.
  3. JaggedB

Jan 26, 2002
    Columbus, OH
    Oh no, here we go, brace yourself...;)

There are plenty of reasons to learn notation. The ones that come immediately to mind:

1) It tells you what key you are in, and thus

2.1) Tells you what the basic structure and notes can be (of course it can always change).

Remember you need to know the rules to know how to break them properly...

2.2) It tells you the structure of the song and the chord progressions (especially important if no basslines are actually written!)

3) It outlines the time signature

4) It allows you read the rhythms of the notes

There are plenty of good analogies about tab being limited and trying to learn to read by memorizing the alphabet, etc.