Tacoma Thunderchief, damaged. Need Advice

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BassAxe, Mar 16, 2004.

1. BassAxe

Jul 22, 2002
    Culpeper, VA
    I'll try not to go on forever about this, but...

My Tacoma CB10 has one of those adhesive plastic pickguards. The pickguard is kinda shaped like a kidney bean. One day it developed an upward crease, about an inch long, starting at the inside curve. The next day, that crease had shot across the pickguard almost in a straight line, slightly curving downward as if to point at where the E string anchors to the bridge. I've seen adhesive plastics bubble and warp due to age, temperature and humidity, but never something so straight and sudden like this. In the next day or two, two more creases began to branch off from the center, almost at a 90 degree angle to the original crease forming an "X" shape. The only explanation I could think of was that the wood top was bowling inwards. I'm not an expert on acoustic instruments, but I don't think that's normal. I had also noticed that recently my bass wasn't projecting as loudly as I seemed to remember.

I took it to a local music store, the only one in town, which happens to also be a Tacoma dealer. The guy there tapped his fingers all around the body and told me it sounded like it had a loose brace. Looking inside with an inspection mirror, he pointed out where the beads of glue were alongside the braces, the braces which run from the neck to the bridge. The glue, he explained, had oozed out when the two pieces were pressed together. But there was a point closer towards the bridge where those dried beads of glue no longer existed. He suspected that it was there where the beads didn't exist where the braces were no longer attached to the top. But he couldn't get the braces to wiggle at all.