Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

tacoma thunderchief fret buzz

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by howie, Oct 5, 2005.

1. howie

howie

Aug 29, 2005
    hey everyone,

i just received my tacoma thunderchief in the mail today and it sounds great! however, i am experiencing some fret buzzing approximately between the seventh and eleventh fret. can this be fixed by a basic setup, or should i send it back for a new one?

i am new to the acoustic bass world so i am not really sure how to adjust the string height. any help would be greatly appreciated!

thanks

2. fretlessrock

fretlessrock Supporting Member

Aug 8, 2002
    Corrupticut
    First, check the neck relief. Start by holding down the E string at the second fret with one hand, and on the 12th with the other. Look at the gap between the string and the frets in between those two points. You can move that around the neck and check the other strings. You are using the string as a straightedge. One way to test the relief is to feel it by holding the upper fret position with your right thumb and using your right index to tap on the string. You can feel how much travel you get before the string hits the fret.

I own a fretless Thunderchief, and have played a few of the fretted models. If you haven't played much ABG it can be an adjustment because the action can seem high if you are used to an electric bass. You need enough relief and string height to let the strings move without hitting the fingerboard. You can get the action lower but you will have noise if you play hard.

The setup is a composite of relief, nut height, saddle height, and the strings being used. So I won't give you had numbers for relief and string height. But I'd start by making sure that you have about 1/16" of relief at least, and that the strings aren't too low.