Take The Hunger Challenge

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by MJ5150, Mar 22, 2011.

1. MJ5150

MJ5150 Moderator Staff Member

Apr 12, 2001
    Olympia, WA
    United Way of King County - Take the Hunger Challenge.

Quick summary: Can you feed yourself for only $7 a day for five days? This is the maximum food stamp benefit (known as the Basic Food Program in Washington) for an individual.

I'm not even going to try. I might make it to lunch. My coffee would ruin me.

-Mike

2. Is that with the exception of what you have in the fridge or does that count? I might be able to... 2 loafs of potato bread, one big pack of roast beef, a jar of mayo, a big box of water bottles, and 15 bananas should add up to less than $7 a day.

3. Can I?

Sure I can, in fact, that's what I've been doing for about the last 3 years.

$7 a day, say 30 days a month. Feeding myself for $210 (~£130) a month?

Yup, I have a budget of £100 a month for food shopping. And that's good eats (and not eating out too often).

4. That's $280 a month, so yes, I'm quite certain I could. I'm pretty sure my college food budget was less than that, even adjusted for inflation.

EDIT: major arithmetic fail
    $7 x 30 = $210
    But i still think I could do it.

5. drteeth

drteeth

Apr 1, 2008
    Leuven, Belgium
    Provided that I still can drink free coffee at work I could.

6. MJ5150

Apr 12, 2001
    Olympia, WA
    Hunger Challenge rules:

Eat breakfast, lunch and dinner spending only $7 per day.
    Salt and pepper don't count but all other seasonings, cooking oils, condiments, snacks, drinks, and everything else do.
    Don't use food you already own.
    Don't accept food from family, friends, coworkers and others. Not even the free samples from Costco!

I'd have to give up coffee to have any chance of making it. I think I should try it though.

-Mike

7. According to the rules, you can't :D.