Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Taking a step into the world of 5-strings

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BinxTheBassMan, Jan 15, 2003.

1. I've been a self-taught bass player for nearly two years now, and I think it's about time I try to tackle a 5 string. I've had my Squier P-bass special for awhile and it's definitely been a great bass, but I want to play some songs written for a 5 string. Before I go ahead and sell it to buy a new one, I was wondering if you guys can give me some advice on what to buy for a 5. I'm looking in the $300 to $400 range for one with great sound, playability, and a b-string that isnt floppy. Lately I've been looking on ebay and had my eye on the Les Paul 5 strings. I don't know anything about them other than I really like the looks of the black one. Can anyone tell me about the Les Paul or any other bass worth buying?

Thanks

2. DarkMazda

DarkMazda

Jun 3, 2000
    NJ
    Hi! Im a self taught bass player as well (playing for 3 years). Let me answer some questions that will cover lots of things when it comes to 5 strings.

Do you really need a 5? - Let me ask you that question first. Do you really need a 5? Yes, 5 string adds that lower B string and what not. You can ALWAYS tune your bass BEAD on a 4 string and play it like that. I personally would tune a bass BEAD and play it like that (some people can back me up on this one). IME, it was alot easier to find a good b string from BEAD tunings rather than BEADG tunings. i don't know why, thats just my experience. It is really up to you.