1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Taking lessons or are you self taught?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Havoc, Mar 31, 2006.

1. Taking lessons

20 vote(s)
    22.7%
  2. Self taught

68 vote(s)
    77.3%
  1. How many are self taught and how many are taking lessons? I'm self taught.

2. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Dec 13, 1999
    NYC
    Chuck Sher publishes my book, WALKING BASSICS:The Fundamentals of Jazz Bass Playing.
    I had been playing for about 13 years when you were born. I went to Berklee 6 years before you were born (and admittedly cut most of my classes to play sessions) and the year before you were born I moved to NYC and have been playing here ever since. About 9 years ago I had the realization that the only way I was going to be able to find my way past this HUGE brick wall in my conception and approach was to get the help of somebody who had been through it all before, who had a deeper understanding of music than I did and who was able to guide me forward in a consistent, focused and progressive way.

If you are at all serious about being a musician, working with a good teacher is a given.

3. self taught and still learnin. i want and will take lessons when i find the right teacher.

4. VS

VS

Jun 6, 2002
    Mountain City, Tennessee
    Discounted Gear: Peavey
    This is the reason I haven't taken lessons in general. It takes the combination of a good bassist & a good teacher. Someone could blow us all away on bass but not have a teaching bone in their body. I give private lessons for younger teenagers & I'm learning with haste how to plant myself on their individual level reguarding their personal taste. Knowing the student's needs and weak points is key & knowing how to solve them is talent. -Luke

5. GSPLBASSDC

GSPLBASSDC

Jan 25, 2005