Taking Slap to the next level

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Vorago, Apr 18, 2005.

1. Vorago

Vorago (((o)))

Jul 17, 2003
    Antwerp, Belgium
    I wasn''t sure where to post this, it's a bit of technique, and a bit of tablature...anyway, if this is in the wrong place, I'm sure it'll be moved :)

So, I've been playing for a about 2 years now, one with a teacher. I can slap the basics, most Flea stuff, which is fairly simple once you "get" what he's doing. It's all based on roots, thirds, fifts, sevens and eights, spiced up with ghost notes. I also play along with Jamiroquai (Mr Moon, Scam, Emergency on planet earth), I can play most of that stuff too, but here is my question. I'm tired of doing the same patters over and over again (although some fast slap is the best way to impress chicks :D ), and I'm looking for music that can take my slapping to the next level. No more standard patterns, but something fresh, technically challenging, with a not-so-basic approach to slapping.

Is my point coming across? Take everything you learned from Flea and improve it :) And please, no Flea bashing, because I really learned alot about bassplaying by playing his music :)
  2. The Reff

The Reff

Feb 11, 2004
    Check out :

Larry Graham ( Graham Central Station, Prince, Sly and the Family Stone)
    Marcus Miller ( Solo Records and as sideman for David Sanborn, Luther Vandros etc.)
    Victor Wooten
    Louis Johnson

There' probably more - I just can't think of anyone right now :)

Any ohters ?
  3. Vorago

Vorago (((o)))

Jul 17, 2003
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Victor Wooten :meh: I'd rather work on one-thumb slap then on doublethumb.

I saw a video of Mark King, he seems to be good too (to say the least)
  4. christoph h.

christoph h.

Mar 26, 2001
    get a "real book" or "parker omnibook" and play some jazz/bebop lines/solos using slap technique.

i remember vic wooten and alain caron playing "donna lee" using slap only".
  5. JimK

Dec 12, 1999