Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Taking the huge step to a carved bass

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by boombloom, Aug 29, 2004.

1. OK. I'm taking the plunge! I've got that sickening "whoops! here we go! feeling" like when the car is just about to start sliding on ice. I started playing electric bass around 1980. I bought a 50's Czech laminated bass about 10 years ago for $600 at a flea market in the parking lot of the international boxing hall of fame and I suddenly knew what Thor felt like when he got his hammer. I've never looked back to the electric. I've been very actively playing, mostly bluegrass--but also some blues and swing. This bass has really kept me very happy. It's the upright I learned on and it's all that I know. I've tried a couple different types of strings but kept the set up essentially the same as when I got it. I should mention that I'm self taught and can't read a note, but I'm enjoying a good deal of success on the bass.

About a year ago I married a genuine paper trained concert pianist. She has friends with costly fancy instruments. They all really encouraged me to get a better instrument. She and her classical friends all told me that a better instrument would inspire me even more than my current bass, and that I wouldn't have to work so hard on tone so I'd be more free to concentrate on everything else.