1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Taking your bass on an international flight

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by _jaxon5, Apr 14, 2015.

1. Okay, first of all this is my first time flying with my beloved instrument. At first I was thinking of getting a really good padded gigbag/softcase because fellow musicians over here in my country are telling me they allow guitars to be hand-carried inside the plane with you (it's in the lawbooks according to them). But since our airline isn't so great with luggage *coughs* Philippine Airlines *coughs* - I just wanted to be a hundred percent sure so right now I'm looking for a hardcase. Brand new ones can be a pain for my wallet so I've been browsing the local listings and saw a TKL hardcase.

So my questions are:
    -can this hardcase (pictured below) withstand a 13-hour flight to the States on board a Boeing 777 and still protect my 40-year-old bass?

-is this brand a really good investment?

-is it really allowed that I take my bass with me INSIDE the passenger cabin and not the cargo area?

-anyone who would care to share their experience(s) on air travel with an instrument as bulky as a bass?

*Php 2,950 roughly equals USD 67
    image.

2. muggsy

muggsy Supporting Member

Dec 14, 2000
    Alexandria, VA
    You need to check the rules for the particular airline, and bring a copy of the rules to the airport. In the US, most airlines permit you to carry on a bass or guitar in a gig bag if it will fit in an overhead compartment. If the overhead compartments are full, the flight attendants will often let you store the bass in the coat closet at the front of the plane. Being nice can go a long way, though a bit of research will uncover many horror stories about musical instruments damaged during air travel.