1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Tappers - What are you using to mute your string?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by haujobb, Apr 7, 2006.

1. haujobb

haujobb

Dec 16, 2004
    Wallaceburg
    I've been working on my tapping technique for about 6 months now and I'm finally getting comfortable with the techique.

What I want to know is, what do you guys use to mute the strings so that they don't ring out? I've seen people recommend hair elastics and sweatbands, but I find to first wasn't tight enough to mute the strings and the second was too tight to stretch over tuning pegs.

2. Theonestarchild

Theonestarchild Artfully lost

Aug 23, 2005
    North Carolina
    What are you talking about? I tap just fine, but without any dampeners or whatever. But check out Micheal Angelo Batio. I think his patented dampeners are what you're looking for. They flip up when you don't need them, and kill a string when you do.

3. adisu

adisu I admit it, I'm a "user"

Apr 8, 2005
    Israel
    Hi There!!!
    Try to use a hairband on the neck right next to the tunning keys ,on the first fret area.

Look in Here
    And generally look for the word 'Hairband' at the search method and explore the threads you get in the results.

Adi.

4. ^^ +1 - Saw a clinic with Victor Wooten and Steve Bailey and Victor showed us how he uses hair bands (scunci's) to quickly slide onto the neck for a simply muting mechanism. I used them (2 skinny ones) and it is the most simple and effortless way to mute and unmute strings I can think of.

5. haujobb

haujobb

Dec 16, 2004
    Wallaceburg
    That's what I've been using but it doesn't seem to mute them enough.

Might have to try some different ones I think...

6. Agent000

Agent000

Jan 23, 2005