Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Tapping Help

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by como_kenyatta, Oct 6, 2003.

1. como_kenyatta

como_kenyatta

Sep 2, 2003
    Hey guys, I need a little help. I've been playing bass for a few years and have really become interested in the tapping techniques used my Victor Wooten, Michael Manring, ect... I know HOW to tap, and have come up with some cool lines, but have come to a sort of wall. My lines sound the same, and I need to expand my view of the technique. My problems may have their roots in my lack of interesting chord choices...I dunno, take a listen.

Thank you over and over.

2. como_kenyatta

como_kenyatta

Sep 2, 2003
    damn, how do I attach the file? AAARRGGG!!!

3. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    To attach a file first it has to be an accepted format:

Valid file extensions: gif jpg png txt zip bmp jpeg mp3

Then it has to be: Maximum size: 324000 bytes

that's 324 kilobytes.

then you can attach it.

as far as tips.

do a search in this forum, it has been covered before, then if you still have a question, feel free to edit your post and make your question more specific.

Of the top of my head though, don't worry about speed, worry about getting EVERY note perfectly clear and with NO fret buzz, keep all your notes as even as you possibly can, between both hands. work on being able to control the dynamics of your two hands, and of your fingers, don't just hammer every note really hard, be aware of dynamics, subtle things like that really make or break tapping for me.

again don't worry about speed or flashy stuff, just start slow, spend your efforts to get each note clear and even.