1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

tapping help

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by jamesbrookes, Dec 12, 2006.

1. jamesbrookes

jamesbrookes

Aug 29, 2006
    Maryland
    I'm new to tapping and someone said to try and learn Stu Hamm's "Linus and Lucy" as a first song. I try to play it but i can't play two different things at once. For example,

G
    D 5
    A 5
    E 3

And

G 121416
    D
    A
    E

Does anyone have any tips if they understood this?

2. fryBASS

fryBASS

Aug 8, 2006
    New Haven, CT
    Ok buddy, take it REALLY, REALLY SLOWWW.

Serioulsy, do each note really slow for a while untill you can do that proficiently at a very slow speed. Like play the 3 on E and the 12 on G and let it ring, then go to the 5 on A and the 14 on G, let it ring, then the 5 on D and the 16 on G, let this ring, and just keep doing that.

Speed it up a teensy bit and keep going over it. Then a little faster. Then take a break (phew!)!

Then keep going faster and faster. Of course, you won't have it under your fingers in one day (I mean, unless you stayed up for 24 hrs straight playing that same thing over, and over and over :smug:), but you should have it in not too long.

Remember, always slow it down if your not getting it.

3. Joe P

Joe P

Jul 15, 2004
    Milwaukee, WI
    Wait-a-sec: NEW to tapping, and Linus and Lucy be your first song?!

They're joking with you.

Sheesh, Dude - I've been working on tapping for.. I dunno - like a year or something, and I've just barely began to play-around with that one a little -- then I give-it-up for another time.

About the farthest I've gotten is this "Lounge Metal":
    http://vids.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=vids.individual&videoid=1546520867
    Yeah: I gotta work on the vocal for that one next. ...and notice that I hardly (maybe never, in this one..) EVER hit two notes at once!