Tapping - how can I improve my technique?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by mrWr0ng, Sep 1, 2005.

1. I'm learning to tap now, and trying to get familiar enough with the method that I can start writing and hopefully covering some songs in a new way.

Anyways, I have a short 30 second clip I recorded last night, and I was curious how it sounded. There's inconsistencies in how hard I hit, but is there anything else thhat I should be working on, or is this just pretty much 'practice practice pracitce' (which is what I'm doing anyways :) )

http://www.jlboyce.com/music/30sex.mp3 (it's named 30sex for a contest)
  2. QU!CK

Apr 26, 2005
    Charlotte, NC
    I'm just starting out with tapping as well but i'm 90% sure that it all comes from "practice practice practice" ;)

3. Your clip actually sounds pretty good.
  4. Bassist4Life

Dec 17, 2004
    Buffalo, NY
    It sounds like you have been tapping for a while now. If you just started recently, then you learn fast. Or, your practice time is well focused. Good job.

If you dig the tapping thing, check out Brendan Wires. He does some nice arrangements. Here's a link to one of them:

1.1mb download

It's Brendan doing "With Or Without You". Keep up the good work. I look forward to hearing more of your playing in the future.

5. Joe P

Joe P

Jul 15, 2004
    Milwaukee, WI
    Hmm - I like it...

It seems like there's only ever one note sounding at a time. Is that how you meant it to be? Maybe there are some intervals inwhich you could let them overlap for some harmony.

6. mrWr0ng

That sounds really good, in fact you have inspired me to go down stairs right now, pick up my bass, and have a go at tapping myself.

Keep it up, and if you have any more clips then do post them as an inspiration to others.

7. tiredman9

Aug 15, 2005
    New York
    wow that clip sounds good. maybe you should be helping us! :smug:
    i also am gonna go try some tapping now...*humming clip* while walking down stairs