Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

tapping into the soul (a Q on tapping)

Discussion in 'Ask Steve Lawson & Michael Manring' started by shon, Jan 29, 2003.

1. shon

shon

Nov 27, 2002
    Healdsburg, CA!!
    I've been playing for about 5 years now, and have only recently gotten into the technique of tapping. I have a few questions regarding the topic of it.

How do I make tapping lines flow from chord to chord?

Are there any excercises that would help time & speed?

Can I get some cool patterns that I could impress my friends with?

Um...I guess that's it for now. I'll probably find more questions about it, and post em on this thread (if not a different one). Cool.

2. Michael Manring

Michael Manring TalkBass Pro Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2000
    Hmmm... those are good questions Shon, but they may require more info than we can get across in this forum. There are certainly lots of exercises you can use to help make your tapping smoother, however sometimes it's best to just practice the particular chord progression you want to improve over and over. Playing it very slowly should help with your time and speed. Try using a metronome at the slowest speed you can stand, then bring the tempo up one notch at a time as you start to be able to play the progression better.

Hopefully, playing fantastic music with expression and depth will impress your friends!

3. shon

shon

Nov 27, 2002
    Healdsburg, CA!!
    Thanks Michael. Do you know where I could get more information about my questions? Like books and stuff?

4. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    Hey shon,

I'm also a newbie(5 years) but I think I might be able to contribute something here. There are two tapping lines I've heard that have been great aids for learning the technique better.
    one is from Victor Wooten and its really simple