Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

tapping

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by air_leech, Feb 11, 2001.

1. air_leech

air_leech

Sep 1, 2000
    Israel

hey,

anyone has an idea what bands to boost or cut on my EQ or in what ratio should I blend the bridge and neck PUs when tapping?

2. stephanie

stephanie

Nov 14, 2000
    Scranton, PA
    Sorry no advice for you. I am just a beginner, but I was really wondering what you mean by 'tapping'?

Thanks,

~Stephanie

3. air_leech

air_leech

Sep 1, 2000
    Israel
    hi Stephanie.

Tapping is a technique applied to bass and guitar in which you use both your right and left hand to fret notes on the fretboard, this allows for really fast licks to be played.
    instead of plucking you "hammer" or "Tap" the notes, meaning you fret the notes by 'throwing' your finger onto the desired fret with a bit of force for them to produce a sound, this also results in an intresting sound. if you still can't visualize how this is done, check out one of those 80's Van-Halen videos, Eddie pioneerd the tapping on electric guitar and is often seen in those videos tapping during solos.

if you want to listen to some good bass tapping you should first and foremost listen to Metropolis by Dream Theater (Images & words album), there is a beautiful bass tapping solo in the middle of the song. next you can listen to Stu Hamm and Billy Sheean who are very accomplished with this technique.

I hope this helped.

4. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

Eddie Van Halen may have popularized tapping, but I heard an old studio out take of Jimi Hendrix trying something similar, and Billy Gibbons has been fretting notes with the picking hand ever since he saw Jimi do it in the late 1960's.

And Rik Emmett was doing the full blown arpeggiated tapping 2 or 3 years before Eruption was recorded.