Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Tascam Bass Trainer

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Edouble, Dec 23, 2005.

1. Edouble

Edouble

Dec 23, 2005
    Hi all,

I'm relatively new to the Bass world and have a question. I recently purchased a Tascam Bass Trainer which enables you to slow down a CD so that you can listen to the song and learn the notes. Was this a useless purchase? My friend, the guitar player, believes so. Any thoughts?

2. Steve Clark

Steve Clark Supporting Member

Jan 9, 2004
    London ON
    I think its a great purchase. It helped me lift some tricky Marcus Miller stuff, which I have since forgotten. But anyways, I think its a great piece of kit. Guitar players . . . :rolleyes:

3. Helstar

Helstar

Nov 26, 2005
    I have one and I love it ....now Tascam they are a piece of **** company and do not care about you after the sale, but the unit is great I recomend it buy it from an online company and get the warranty cause Tascam will flat out tell ya tough Sh*t
    but I like the unit

4. Piezoman

Piezoman

Nov 29, 2002
    Bronx, New York
    What else can it do besides slow a song down?

I was hoping you could kinda of boost the bass or lower other frequencies so that the bass becomes more prominent. If it did something like that, I would definitley have put that on my christmas list.

5. seanm

seanm I'd kill for a Nobel Peace Prize! Supporting Member

Feb 19, 2004
    Ottawa, Canada
    I own one and really like it. Don't listen to the guitar player. Bass players have extra problems trying to work out the bass lines since they tend to be more buried in the mix. The Tascam can help bring out the bass. It is not perfect, but every little bit can help.

6. FenderHotRod

FenderHotRod

Sep 1, 2004
    Arkansas