1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Tastes change

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Rip Topaz, Dec 31, 2011.

1. Rip Topaz

Rip Topaz

Aug 12, 2005
    Willow Street, PA
    Beta tester for Positive Grid
    Anyone have this happen to them?

I started playing bass in 1981. Haven't stopped for more than a few months since then.

Since I started, I've gone through just about every type of bass known to man. When I started, it was Ibanez all the way. Active pickups, thin necks, rosewood fretboards. For years I replaced one active rosewood bass for another, from Ibanez to BC Rich to Traben, back to Ibanez.

Then a few years something clicked, and I went passive. It started with Thunderbirds. That classic muddy thump really grabbed me. Something old school about passive pickups, I think. I changed my whole playing style.

Then I spent a year playing nothing but fretless bass. ***?!? Not sure where that came from.

Now, suddenly I find myself back to basics, playing (of all things) a passive P copy (albeit heavily modded). And totally loving the tones available. Maple fretboard, passive pups. Now we're talkin'.

Has anyone else gone from active to old school over the years, or made such a drastic change in basses that it made you go "Hmmm..."?

I know tastes change with time, but this is a total night and day change. Anything more drastic and I'd be a (!!) guitarist!!!

2. tabdog

tabdog

Feb 9, 2011
    I started in the early 1980's with a Japanese
    made Westone Electra with an 18 volt preamp.

I got a Peavey passive for backup, but hardly
    ever played it back then.

Nothing I ever tried could touch my Westone.

When I had kids, music took a back seat.

Now, kids are gone, wife is gone and I'm a has
    been.

But my taste have changed and I started liking