Tax Forms for cover bands?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by pglaser01, Sep 20, 2016.

1. pglaser01

pglaser01

Mar 19, 2013
    St. Louis, MO
    If only I were that good....
    Hey all,

Finally got a gig at the biggest venue in town! Can't wait to play, even though it's a simple audition.

Anyway, I'm required to fill out a W9....but I've never done this before. Any guidance on filling it as a simple cover band? We aren't listed as anything but do own our own website....just want to make sure I'm covering my basses (you see what I did there)

Any guidance is really appreciated

2. fdeck

fdeck Supporting Member Commercial User

Mar 20, 2004
    Madison WI
    HPF Technology LLC
    I'm not a lawyer or tax accountant, but in my view the band members should fill out individual W9's.

3. 74hc

74hc

Nov 19, 2015
    Sunny California
    It depends upon how your band is setup as a business venture. The venue is just following IRS tax law, and their local state as well. They will report the band's income to the IRS, and your band will receive a 1099 just like W-2s.

The difference here is that you are not the venue's employee, thus the 1099.

So what do you do? Well, for starters don't do nothing and hope to get through out. You should contact someone who specializes in setting up business, particularly bands. What choices you make will depend upon what state you live in, and what your needs are.

Here's typical band arrangements:

1- The band itself is a corporation and the band members hold stock.

2- One band member holds the LLC, and the rest of the band are independent contractors. This arrangement is very important that the LLC holder does not treat the rest of the band as employees. Otherwise, the IRS and possibly the state, will come in and demand more tax payments as if the LLC is an employer. You can read hints in the "Bass Humor and Gig Stories" forum on a few of the members replies.