Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by c-ba55, Mar 4, 2003.

1. What's the general thoughts on paying taxes on musical income?

Just the stuff where you gave an employer your SS#?

Just the stuff where you got paid by check?

Just the stuff where you received more than $x from a single source?

Just the stuff where you received more than $x from a single source at one time?
  2. I think the subject of venereal disease would elicit more interest than this subject. LOL! Funny how everone goes suddenly silent......
  3. Petebass

Dec 22, 2002
    QLD Australia
    I'm an accountant but I'm in Australia and not up to speed on USA tax laws. I believe Rabbid Granny is also an accountant but he's Canadian. Surely there's someone on TB who knows U.S. tax??
  4. RAM

May 10, 2000
    Chicago, IL
    Reluctantly, I'll come forward. Accounting educated and (former) practitioner, present and accounted for.

Anyway, the US government (and most other governments, I believe) tax income. How do you define income? Income isn't limited to what an individual or business is paid by check. What about credit card payments? How about barter? Why not cash?

The thing is, if the government only taxed income paid by check, no business in their right mind would pay their employees by check! They'd all be paid in other means. Keep in mind that the US tax code sets forth that not only do you pay income tax, but also FICA (social security), medicare, etc. The FICA you pay is essentially payment into your own social security "account" that your employer is required to match. In addition, there are other taxes your employer pays that are "on your behalf", including FUTA and SUTA (federal and state unemployment taxes).