1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TC Electronic BG250 brand new or a used SWR Super Redhead

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by jZildjianZj, Sep 25, 2013.

1. jZildjianZj

jZildjianZj

Sep 21, 2013
    Hi!

Okay...I am going to explain my situation here first, then ask my question(s).

Let me mention first, I am a drummer (30 years), not yet a bass player. I just started to learn this craft.

I just bought an American Standard Jazz bass; 2012 model. I also bought a brand new TC Electronic BG250 bass combo amp. The TCE has a 15" speaker along with a 1" tweeter, and has 250 watts of power.

Well, my friend has a SWR Super RedHead that he is giving to me. I just have to have it shipped from Minnesota to California.

I really do not know anything about bass combo amps besides what I can read on the internet and what YouTube has to offer....

I know what the TC Elecronic sounds like, but have never heard a RedHead in action....hold those comments please! ;)

The TCE BG250 has great reviews, but I do read that the RedHead is a great combo amp!

I'm not all that thrilled with the TCE, though the reviews are high. I know that if you buy an amp, you should play through it first to make sure that is what you want. I didn't do this with the TCE. I just went by reviews.... The SWR, I haven't even seen it yet...but it is free, plus the shipping.

Anyhow.... I want to get opinions between the two. What is better, what the characteristics between the two are....I just want to know what is best overall. Like I said before, I am just learning the bass; I only know the E major scale by heart....that is where I am at. I know the SWR is a heavy mo-fo, where the TCE is 35 pounds.

If I return the TCE, I have to send it back before 30 days, other words I am stuck with it. I bought it from www.zzounds.com
    Time is an issue for me; the 30 days is counting down.