TC electronics 250 vs Ibanez Premetheum

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by kirbonite, Aug 13, 2018.

1. kirbonite

kirbonite

Aug 13, 2018
    Parts Unknown
    I'm a guitarist and banjo player turn bassist.
    Hi.. this is my first post.

I'm in the market for a portable guitar amp with some significant power. I play mostly for small churches and small clubs. This requires travel in tight spaces and I play with a pretty loud drummer. I also may play guitar through this amp on occassion.

I've narrowed my search to the TC electronics 2x8 250 watt
    and the Ibanez Promethum 1x10 300 watt

I'm leaning towards the TC as they have a good reputation but the size and boost in wattage makes the ibanez tempting.. I welcome opinions

2. soulman969

soulman969 Inactive

Oct 6, 2011
    Englewood, Colorado
    50w will make little or no difference in output if both are operating at 4 ohms.

But are you looking primarily for a bass amp or a guitar amp?

3. Low Class

Low Class

Jul 4, 2005
    Gasaholic
    The TC will be a better amp imo.

4. kirbonite

kirbonite

Aug 13, 2018
    Parts Unknown
    Primarily a bass amp but I do play other instruments and might like to double time on the amp sometimes.. thanks for the responses... confirming my hypothesis

5. soulman969

soulman969 Inactive

Oct 6, 2011
    Englewood, Colorado
    If you're playing electric bass I might suggest the BG250 2x10 instead of the 2x8. The price is roughly the same and it will be a much better amp for the kind of double duty you require. In fact I would even rate the 1x12 ahead of the 2x8. JMHO

Munjibunga likes this.
  6. Killed_by_Death

Killed_by_Death Snaggletooth Inactive

The Ibanez model is "Promethean" & IMHO they are awful. I tried one in a pawnshop once, but maybe it had just been abused before I got to it.

7. Turxile

Turxile

May 1, 2011