1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

TCE RH450 Effects Loop Help

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by JusttheBassics, Jun 23, 2016.

1. JusttheBassics

JusttheBassics Guest

Jun 23, 2016
    Hey Folks,

I'm a lifelong musician, but new to bass and electronics. I have a TCE RH450 that I am really enjoying, but I am playing with the idea of getting an EQ pedal to act as a separate EQ apart from the EQ on the head, for a different, perhaps more modern, or "clean" sound, rather than the inherent warmth of the RH450.

My understanding is that the RH450 has a serial effects loop, so I have a question regarding how it all hooks up, and perhaps this will spark some guidance:

If I want an EQ independent of the head's EQ, do I hook the pedal up to the send/return of the effects loop and then plug my bass into the head as normal, then when I want to bypass the head's EQ, I engage the pedal?

Sorry if this all sounds lame, but I'm really new to this stuff.

Thanks.

2. Hi there,
    I'm not sure if an EQ pedal will get you there? You might be able to put the pedal in front of the amp. Bass-pedal-amp but I don't think it will alter the overall tone or feel of the RH. Usually stacking EQ's or preamps causes some unwanted tones. Too much eq!
    If you like the RH just spend some more time with it. Make a preset without any of the tubedrive and reduce some low mids and just a smidge of compression perhaps? The EQ points on the RH can be changed as well by using their secondary function. If that doesn't work buy a different preamp and run that into the effects return of the RH. That will bypass the preamp and EQ on the RH entirely.
    Hope this helps!
    Good luck!
    Brent