teach me to groove.

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by fenderx55, Jan 3, 2006.

1. fenderx55

Jan 15, 2005
    So i've been reading the Milkowski Jaco biography, and I have heavy weather and some TOP and lots of pfunk, but I need things that make me groove. I need some R&B and motown but I have no idea where to start.

Please, help out whitey.

Chris :rolleyes:
  2. Gomez

Gomez Live from the Shire

Apr 15, 2005
    Sorry buddy, but you're born with it. Either you have it, or you don't.

I'm a rythm-person, always have been. I even think I'm a better drummer than a bassplayer.
  3. BassChuck

Nov 15, 2005
    Sadly, Gomez is right.

BUT.... Ed Friedander's book on Bass Groove will help you get the most of what talent you have... and that might just be enough.
  4. James Brown baby!!! Get it and learn it
  5. zac2944

zac2944 Supporting Member

Dec 28, 2004
    Rochester, NY
    This is not true. You can learn how to groove, but it takes a long time.

Grooving requires a great sense of time. A sense of time does not have to be learned from formal rhythm training. If you grew up listening to grooving music, danced to that music, clapped your hands to that music, loved and really got into that music, you might think you were "born with a sense of rhythm". Listening and feeling the groove is rhythm training. That's why some people can start on drums or bass and sound funky with almost no training. They know how a groove feels. It is not in them because they were "born with it", they subconsciously internalized it over time since they were young.