Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Teachers in Los Angeles

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by didj, Jun 22, 2005.

1. didj

didj

Sep 9, 2003
    Los Angeles
    Anyone have a recommendation for a teacher in LA? I'm a beginner on DB, who has read all the teacher threads and believed them.

Thanks

2. didj

didj

Sep 9, 2003
    Los Angeles
    That's funny, I thought I'd get a response since there are 253,944,358 posts recommending a teacher.

Maybe if I rephrase the question...

Does anyone know any db teachers in LA?

Thanks

3. Klelewon

Klelewon Supporting Member

Mar 15, 2002
    Los Angeles
    There are many. Kristin Korb, John Clayton, etc. I got a list of teachers from Lisa Gass at LA Bassworks. I'm sure the other LA luthiers can give similar information. I sent an email to John Clayton and he refered me to a local teacher. I'm just courious, what type of music and technique are you interested in? Jazz, Classical, Latin, Blue Grass, etc?

Also, try www.basslessons.com.

Cleveland

4. didj

didj

Sep 9, 2003
    Los Angeles
    Thanks Klelewon, I'll contact someone at LA Bassworks since it's close by. I've been playing electric bass for almost 10 years and have played all of those styles, adding swing, big band, pop, showtunes, funk... pretty much any music that comes along that I like, I learn it. As for how that translates to an approach to playing DB, I have no idea. I'm not interested in being a soloist or superstar. I just like low notes.

5. Klelewon

Klelewon Supporting Member

Mar 15, 2002
    Los Angeles
    Your welcome and good luck. BTW, I think LA Bassworks moved to a new location on June 1st.

Cleveland

6. flatback

flatback

May 6, 2004
    Bolinas Ca