Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Teachers in Nashville

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by DrewBud, Jun 11, 2005.

1. DrewBud

DrewBud

Jun 8, 2005
    Nashville
    I was wondering if anyone could recommend some good teachers in Nashville. I'd like to study Jazz primarily with a good bit of classical. I also play with a German bow if that helps :)

I'm pretty new to the city so I don't know many people here.

Thanks everyone.

2. Bobby King

Bobby King Supporting Member

May 3, 2005
    Nashville, TN
    Hello,

I can recommend a fantastic teacher for arco/German bow. His name is Joel Reist and he's currently the principal bassist with the Nashville Symphony. Joel doen't really teach jazz though, although he appreciates other types of music besides classical.

For jazz, I'd recommend Alana Rocklin, who plays with Jeff Coffin and others. She is a French bow player however. Roger Spencer at the Nashville Jazz Workshop is also a very good teacher and could probably recommend other teachers as well. Jim Ferguson is a good teacher and also does repair and setup.

Email me : RSK1957@aol.com and I'll give you some phone #'s.

Bobby

3. You also have Dustin Williams who is also an excellent luthier. Have you visited his shop on Music Row?

Ike Harris, who hangs out around here pretty regularly, also offers DB lessons.

4. DrewBud

DrewBud

Jun 8, 2005
    Nashville
    Thanks for the great information. I had already found Jim Ferguson and have e-mailed with him a few times. We're going to try and hook up in the next week or so.

I haven't had a chance to go to Dustin Williams shop yet. I just got my acoustic back after 7 years last weekend so it's on my list of things to do.

Thanks again :)

5. I was gonna suggest Jim...he's a MF..er. At least jazz wise. One of his mentors was the great jazz bassist Red Mitchell.