1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Teachers More Necessary for Upright than Big Guitar?

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by -executor-, Apr 8, 2006.

1. Is it more necessary to have a teacher for an upright bass than for a big guitar electric bass?
    I am considering getting into double bass. I have some experience with a BG but I want to start playing some rockabilly/psychobilly music on a DB but I would rather not learn from a teacher. Are there any books I should look into purchasing that are for a beginner double bass player?
    Thanks

2. GirlBass

GirlBass

Jul 31, 2005
    New York
    Why would you rather not learn from a teacher? It is important for someone, even with experience with BG, to consult a teacher from the beginning so you can learn it the right way to avoid injury and avoid learning bad habits. A book can't tell you that you're holding your bow wrong or tell you why it hurts and show you how to fix it.

You really would be saving yourself a lot of time if you just learned it correctly from the beginning, instead of being self-taught, and then later realizing you're doing it wrong, getting a teacher, and working on correcting bad habits before you can actually progress.

There was a great thread recently on technique books. If you search the forum you'll find it pretty easily.
    Good luck!

3. Sippy

Sippy

Aug 1, 2005
    Stuart,Florida
    I'm a bass guitar convert. I need a teacher. Even though I already know how to play the bass guitar. The double bass is a totally different instrument.

4. You are probably right but I just don't like to take lessons. Even though I am probably going about this the wrong way I just want to know if it is possible to learn with a book and by yourself.

5. hdiddy

hdiddy Official Forum Flunkee Supporting Member