Teachers or Self Taught?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Cambass, Feb 6, 2001.

1. Hi again

I have been playing for over a year and a half. However I have gotten in to this mindset that I'm not that good, well not on the theory part anyway. I've developed my dexterity and all that.

My question is, would you advise a teacher to learning bass players? I've never had a lesson from a another person, just a couple of books and internet resources but yet I feel I'm nowhere near as good as I should be. The major problem is that I don't think I'm disciplined enough to practise effectively each day. Would a teacher help?

What should I do?

2. cschenk78

Mar 12, 2000
    Watertown, NY
    Find out who is the best teacher in town, pay him/her some money and get yourself some lessons...
  3. Dragonlord

Dragonlord Rocks Around The Glocks

Aug 30, 2000
    Greece, Europe
    You'll never know until you try!
    Actually,that's the case with me,too.I play bass for a couple of years now,and I have tried two teachers...it didn't work.I wasn't disciplined,didn't do my homework,and while I was taking lessons,I had no passion for bass whatsoever!Once I stopped lessons,my passion for the 4 strings was there again-voila!Maybe I just didn't find the right teacher for me,or maybe I am just too lazy.I don't think I'll ever be as good as I could if I took lessons,but what the hell...it's supposed to be fun,isn't it?I said,this thing is gonna make me hate bass,I may never be a virtuoso but I will enjoy it more!
    Of course,this doesn't mean that it won't work for you either.I say give it a try,and see how it goes.If it works,it will surely be better for your playing-just be careful of one thing:NEVER stick only to what your teacher teaches you;continue to explore bassplaying on your own,and this combination will take you to a new level.Best of luck!
  4. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member