1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Teachers. What Book do you use? If any.

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Kroy, Mar 23, 2006.

1. Kroy

Kroy

Jan 19, 2006
    I'm fairly new to teaching private lessons and so far I've had pretty good response. I have mostly guitar students which I have a method book I start all my students to get them reading notation and all that good stuff. I'm getting ready to do the same with my bass students but all the method books I've seen so far don't really do it for me. I want something that will teach them to read and also work in some elements of theory as it goes.

I'm studying bass with a guy and he has compiled his own over the years. He also has a sight-reading book by David Motto which is pretty good. I may start using it, once my bass guys are reading a little better. My question is, what books do you use? If any.

2. SteveC

SteveC Moderator Staff Member

Nov 12, 2004
    North Dakota
    Ed Friedland edited the Hal Leonard book. 3 part series. Great books, as are all his others. Highly recommended.

They are at the bottom of this page:

http://www.edfriedland.com/books.htm

3. MikeRS

MikeRS

Aug 16, 2005
    Clinton, MA
    I teach beginners with books for the basics, and then go into different styles, such as slapping from one, then walking styles from another.

I also make them do exersises in John Shuan's Note Speller 1 and 2. Even the treble cleft because I teach them to recognize both for this one reason: when using legers lines above the bass stave, all notes on lines are also on lines on the treble cleft and same with spaces (pretty easy to see). So if they know both they can recognize the high leger lines quicker and easier.

4. sedgdog

sedgdog

Jan 26, 2002
    Pasco, WA