teachin my self

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by PunkO, Feb 9, 2001.

1. PunkO

Oct 22, 2000
    I'm trying to teach myself but i don't know where to start. Does any one have any suggestions or ideas that will help me out playin. The type of music that i want to play is punk so please help >8^(
  2. Learn scales. Learn a pick if you have to, but learn to play with fingers too.
  3. i am pretty much self taught, i would also go with scales.
    i played bass for about three months and was getting nowhere fast then i took a lesson with this guy and he showed me a major scale and i improved quickly. its nice to know as much theory as possible, there is a ton on this site and there are so many books now that there is no excuse for lack of theory.

good luck
  4. pkr2

Apr 28, 2000
    coastal N.C.
    Punko, After a couple of halfhearted attempts ay learning theory, I've decided to give it one more all out effort.

I found that, for me at least, The very first step has been to learn the notes on the fingerboard. Everything that I've attempted to learn so far depends on my knowing the notes without having to figure out where the notes are on the fingerboard.

I am seeing steady improvement by using a fingerboard diagram and sort of throwing mental darts at it. Kind of like closing your eyes and putting a finger or pencil point on the diagram,opening my eyes and see how fast I can "name that note".

I remember telling my electronics instructor once that I didn't have enough time in my day to do as much studying as I would like. His suggestion was to make sure that I had some study material in the bathroom at all times. That's at least a few minutes a day that can do double duty. Believe it or not, that few minutes a day on a regular schedule yielded more results than trying to cram for each test.