Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Teaching Beginners and Sibelius G7

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Tactician, Apr 10, 2003.

1. Anyong have any ideas on what books are good for youngsters starting out on Bass. As a Bass teacher I find most of what's available is a bit dull from the students point of view (as they have to use music in the public domain to avoid copyright issues I guess). I have Bass students that are all between 13-16 so you know what I mean. I'm using Basix Bass at the moments - but all the other materials I have are like Hal Leonard MI level and I need to get them through these early stages before moving on to the more meaty / interesting stuff.

I'm working on the idea of writing my own materials and have just bought Sibelius G7 - a brilliant TAB/notation package especially for Bass, guitar and a whole lot of other instruments we all play along with. With this I could take the best bits of everything and create something unique for my own teaching style. (OK I know that I also must avaoid copyright issues but I can find workround for that.)

Teachers out there? Any ideas guys. Am I going to spend tooooo much time creating and not enough time earning?

2. James S

James S

Apr 17, 2002
    New Hampshire
    Tactician,

I understand you complaint about most beginning stuff being BORING.

I use this book regularly for rank beginners. (teenage)

http://64.227.204.122/books.html#anchorbassworkout

Most beginners play these songs with their fingers as opposed to slap. The real fun here is the play-alongs. Very simple lines and hard groove.