Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Teaching Beginners

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Bass Catcher, Aug 8, 2005.

1. Hello -

Not sure if there are any private teachers on here . . . but we'll see.

I have several beginner bass students and I'm looking for more ideas as to what to do with them.

Currently - they're working on simply alternating their plucking fingers in their right hand - going up and down all four strings.

Then I'll add in their left hand playing a simple finger excercise 1-2-4-2 (#s = fingers in left hand)

Then we'll work a little out of a Hal Leonard bass book by Ed Friedland.

After that we might work on a song they like - but most of the time - they never have one they want to learn.

I'm wondering what anyone else does? Keep in mind - these are absolute beginners. A major scale is way beyond their abilities. I'd really like to teach them some easy songs with good bass lines - any suggestions?

Thanks a lot.

Matt

2. BBMS

BBMS

Jun 29, 2005