1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Teaching improvisation?

Discussion in 'Ask David Overthrow' started by Gyoon, Mar 5, 2007.

1. Gyoon

Gyoon

Nov 12, 2004
    Toronto, Ontario
    I'm a bass and guitar teacher in the Toronto area and I always seem to have a problem teaching improv.

Scales, chords, is easy. I just can't seem to get a number of students interested in exploring the different sounds that scales can make. I get them to play sequences and such, but some just don't show that spark. Am I trying to push something on people that may not be ready for it?

2. When teaching improvisation, the student can be given the tools to improvise with but can’t really be taught the creative process. Each student is different in terms of his or her innate ability to be creative on a musical level, so improvising will be easier for some and laborious for others. What I try to do with my students is to have them learn a simple scale, say a minor pentatonic. Before learning more scale choices, have the student try to tell a story with the minor pentatonic. Have the student sing or clap a predetermined rhythm and have them play any notes of the scale with that predetermined rhythm b y first starting with one bar phrases. After that, move onto two bars phrases, and if they can, four bar phrases.

It sounds like you already have students playing melodic sequences. Perhaps have them attempt to sing their solos. This is something you have to hear and can’t fake. Try to have students improvise on 1 string. For example, if they are using a G dorian scale for improvising, have them improvise playing the G dorian scale on the G string. This may help them play more lyrically and not so much thinking fingerings.