Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Teaching one's self

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by SLiGhTLy_STooPiD, Nov 15, 2000.

1. So are any of you self taught? - Meaning you never had lessons and everything you learned was from books/videos/internet, etc.? Just very curious and bored.

2. Nails

Nails

Jun 4, 2000
    Austin, Tejas
    I'd say bass wise I am. I did have a little help from my older brother, but that was on my guitar playing not my bass playing, I could transfer somethings over to bass though. But he never showed me things like how to hold a bass, which fingers to fret and pluck with, whether or not to use a pick, scales, or anything like that. Come to think of it, I've only seen one video, never read a book, but have done most of my learning by internet and observation.

3. By the time I taught myself guitar and bass, I had several years of violin training under my belt, so I had an aptitude established. I just listened to many recordings, and learned as much of those as possible. My style is pretty much a melting pot of all those recordings I learned.

Herm

4. Yvon

Yvon Supporting Member

Nov 2, 2000
    Montreal, Canada
    I took lesson and studied at the university also. So i am far to be self taught. I think you need lesson unless you want to play in garage band all your life. Maybe if you are dicipline enough, you can learn harmony and reading by yourself...

5. Jay

Jay

Oct 19, 2000
    Bidwell, OH