1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Teaching Online (Skype)

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Ranjith Hegde, Oct 23, 2015.

1. Ranjith Hegde

Ranjith Hegde

Oct 20, 2015
    India
    Hello
    I am new to TalkBass. So I am unaware if there is a separate thread where one looks for a teacher. So here I make my post.
    I am Ranjith from India. I recently got a custom made violin. It has 7 strings. Along with the standard EADG it also has C F and Bb. The low Bb being just a tritone higher than the lowest note E on a standard bass.
    I have been teaching myself to use this instrument as a bass with the lower strings. I have managed arco and left hand techniques, since its mostly similar to a violin, just fatter strings and lower register notes.
    I am also trying to play pizzicato. Trying to mimic or transfer skills from upright bass (right hand). And that is where I am stuck. I am clueless as to how to start practicing towards it. I did some looking up on tubes and other similar video sites and it did not help very much.
    So I would very much like to find an Upright Bass player and take lessons from her/him.
    And since there are a handful of upright players in India, a good portion of them switching either from cello or from electric guitar to upright, to meet the needs of the industry, they are not the ideal to go to for lessons.
    Could someone from here be willing to give me lessons on Skype?
    Please let me know.
    Thanks

2. dc-upright

dc-upright

Mar 31, 2013
    Fab Superlative likes this.
  3. Ranjith Hegde

Ranjith Hegde

Oct 20, 2015
    India
  4. Lynn Seaton

Lynn Seaton Gold Supporting Member

Nov 3, 2006
    Denton, TX
    Fab Superlative likes this.
  5. MikeCanada

MikeCanada

Aug 30, 2011
    Toronto, ON