1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Teaching?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by hublocker, Apr 6, 2009.

1. hublocker

hublocker

May 17, 2007
    I'm a journalist and on a recent job I was talking with the photographer and told him I'd been playing bass for 32 years.

He just started last year and wants lessons.

I showed a friend last year some basic arpeggios and patterns to play along with chords and how to just play one note per chord if she wasn't sure what to do, expand to Root-Fifth and then Root- Third -Fifth kind of stuff and that worked.

So now the photographer wants a lesson tonight, and I don't know what to show him.

I play country and classic rock and roll and he's into Lenny Kravitz and AWB and I've never listened to those bands. Ever.

What do you do with a first lesson?

Assess the student to see what he knows before trying to show them anything?

2. BassChuck

BassChuck Supporting Member

Nov 15, 2005
    Cincinnati
    Find out where he is. Ask where he wants to go. Plot a path and make a plan that removes all the stumbling blocks between those two points.

3. funkmangriff

funkmangriff

Dec 29, 2007
    +1

its important they know the componants of the bass first and plucking hand technique, leave the fretting hand for later, getting the rhythm is first, in my opinion anyways! maybe im wrong!

4. hublocker

hublocker

May 17, 2007
    Thanks. It's a lot easier to see where to go now after one session.

5. CRONOS

CRONOS

Jun 30, 2008
    let him show you what he can do and go from there.

6. FWIW, and not to be the dissenting opinion here, but...