1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Tech 21 SansAmp Bass Driver DI

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by plastik-bass[?], Feb 27, 2008.

1. this is most likely a noob question but i did a search and couldnt find anything...and im an extreme noob when it comes to pedals XD

I've been thinkin about gettin this thing when i get the $$ and i was wondering. does it have to be used as a DI for like ampless gigs or could i use it as a normal pedal/preamp/eq thing.. like put the EQ on my amp flat and use this for the EQ or would i just leave the EQ on my amp the same and just use this to change it more??

Thanks in Advance :bassist::bassist::bassist:

2. Indeed it can/does.

It has a DI output, a regular output, and a parallel output. The regular output takes the signal after the box has done its thing and feeds that to whatever you want (your amp, I'd guess), which is to say, any tone shaping the sansamp does will be included in that signal. The parallel output bypasses the sansamps tone shaping and just goes straight from the input back out again. So you could use it as your EQ for your amp if you want to, or not if you ever decide to swing that way.

And theres no reason you can't use the EQ on both it and your amp if you want.

3. oh god all this terminology is making me confused...i think i kinda get what your saying but is there any easier way to explain to me/show me....im sorry but when it comes to signal chains an all that i have no idea whats goin on

4. Haha, its simple:

You plug your bass into it (the input) and then you use the output to go to your amp. In this case, the sansamp will act as an EQ/tone shaper for your amp: any changes you make on the sansamp will be heard on the amp as well, just like what you wanted.