1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Tech 21 VT Bass Deluxe DI Questions

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Stranger Danger, Jan 18, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Stranger Danger

Stranger Danger Feel Like A Stranger

Jan 3, 2010
    Texas
    Just picked up one of these in the classifieds and waiting for it to arrive. I have very little experience with Sansamp stuff and none with this pedal. Any tips from users would be appreciated. Also how does the effects loop work? Is it before the presets or after or parallel? I’ll be using it with one bass and in front of my Markbass amp and I’ll have synth stuff in the loop (octave, fuzz, envelope filter). Probably have delay after it as well.

Last edited: Jan 18, 2019
  2. Stranger Danger

Jan 3, 2010
    Texas
    @JimmyM any tips my man? I know you are an expert on this pedal.

3. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    I guess I have a couple...

1. Flat response with the clean sound is argued slightly between folks on here, but we all seem to agree that it exists at approximately these settings...bass 12:30, mids and character slightly past noon, treble between 9:00 and 10:00 (I say closer to 10:00). Chris the Tech 21 rep will probably chime in with his preferred flat settings, too, and I'd tell you what they are if I could remember them :D

2. The knobs are extremely sensitive and interactive, and small changes make big results that can have implications for other knobs. So if you need to change something on the fly, do it in small increments. That's the price to pay for its extreme versatility.

3. I find the more overdrive I use, the more I need to increase bass response to keep the low end even with the clean sound. But it will do anything from clean to fuzz, and I find it makes a darn good fuzz pedal, actually.

4. Stranger Danger

Jan 3, 2010