Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Tech questions? Ask away.......

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Joris, Nov 19, 2000.

1. This is an article I wrote quite some time ago. With the last Talkbass board upgrade it was corrupted. I decided to repost a slightly edited version of the article. I haven't had many reactions from the old thread lately (which was called "Tech questions? Ask me!!!", and after it was damaged, it didn't have my initial post on top anymore), so I figured: let's start a new one, with the initial post on top this time!

Joris.
    -----------------------------------------------------

Across this board I stumbled upon some technical questions and misconceptions. The following is for the people who are interested in the electronic part of bass playing and amplifying. I am a micro-electronics engineer both by profession and hobby; I built my own rig. Pictures of it were on the old board and on my personal homepage (see below). I think I can make a valuable contribution to this board by putting some of my technical knowledge on it. I hope it isn't too technical. Anyway, I hope it will help you in understanding this difficult stuff.

Frequency.

The first issue that concerns us, bassists, is frequency. Of all tonal instruments, we cover the lowest frequency range. The frequency range of a bass guitar's notes is 41.2 - 392 Hz. With today's 6 string basses, it ranges from 30.9 - 523 Hz (based on 24 frets). However, a great deal of the sound comes from harmonics or overtones. Especially when playing close to the bridge or with a pickup that's close to the bridge. These harmonics and their relationships are what determines the tone of an instrument, its character. They range to about 2 kHz. Fret sounds like slapping go well above 5 kHz.