Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Tech-questions? -Don't ask me!!!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by carl-anton, Jan 19, 2001.

1. As the title implies I'm a tech-imbecile, so somebody please enlighten me. Why is it that adding cabs lower the resistence? Why do two 8 ohm cabs make 4ohms? How about running cabs in series (and is that, by the way, connecting one cab only to the amp, and the rest cab to cab?), whats the difference?

Thanks in advance!

Lars the not so clever...

2. CS

CS

Dec 11, 1999
    UK
    http://www.webervst.com/sptalk.html

I have nothing to do with Weber speakers. I use the BBS sometimes but I found the above link useful as I too am less than technical. Scroll down and there are diagrams and explainations of speaker types and resistance.

3. Think of it like this, 8 ohms is the impedance, which means how much it impedes the flow of current. If you put another one beside it, so now the current has 2 paths to flow through, it is impeded less. So the impedance is a measurement of how hard it is to get through, and if you put another one beside it (hooked in parallel) it is easier to get through.

Chris

4. JimM

JimM

Jan 13, 2000
    Northern California
    Pretty good explaination T,
    I hope this doesn't confuse things,but knowing the extremes helps me to keep the in-between measurements in perspective.the extreme measurements of impedence are zero(0)ohms and infinite (sideways"8")ohms.An example of zero ohms would be a thick,short wire.But infinite resistance is like an insulator such as the vinyl coating on cords etc.

The thick wire doesn't resist current flow because it has plenty of room for the electrons to travel.On the other hand,vinyl.plastic,glass etc.are non-conductors so they are said to have an infinite amount of impedence.

5. Matthias

Matthias

May 30, 2000
    Vienna, Austria