1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Technique for double-stopping a whole song?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Ukiah Bass, Mar 18, 2013.

1. Ukiah Bass

Ukiah Bass Supporting Member

May 10, 2006
    I'm pretty new to double stops. I've used them before, sparingly, but I'm in a jazz duo where the guitarist/composer is writing a lot of new songs using constant double stops. Attached is an example of page from a score showing the last part of a new song where everything is double stopped. Actually, the four-page score is entirely double stopped. Whew! (This particular song is in the style of Jean-Luc Ponty.)

My particular issue is playing this steady frequency of double stops is stressing my left forearm (the fingering arm). Usually I play standing up, and I find it's a bit easier playing this music while sitting down. But it's still causing too much stress in the forearm and I'm not sure if I can keep it up. Is this just a matter of building endurance, or are there some tips anyone can offer on how to approach this music technique-wise?

Thank you.

P.S. fwiw, the tempo of this song is 120 so the double-stopped changes move along at a pretty good clip.

2. TheEmptyCell

TheEmptyCell Bearded Dingwall Enthusiast Banned SUSPENDED

Sounds like you might need to lower your action. Or come up with a less difficult (physically) bass line that still sounds good to his ears.

EDIT: If it hurts/ is uncomfortable, do NOT try to tough it out/ build endurance... that will lead to a repetitive stress injury AT BEST.

3. Clef_de_fa

Clef_de_fa Guest

Dec 25, 2011