Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

technique in general...

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by nataku, Jul 4, 2005.

1. nataku

nataku

Jun 21, 2004
    San Jose, CA
    so, this is kind of embarassing, but im a total noob to technique on bass. ive been playing for 3 years, ive been in a band for almost that whole time, and up until now, technique hasnt been a problem for me, so i just assumed i was doing it right. there werent any stickies in this forum, and im not sure what to search for, so i decided to ask for advice.

recently, my band tried to record instruments separately. lets just say it exposed a lot of things about my playing that surprised them, and me, for that matter. i wear my bass farily high, im right handed, and i play a 4 string. ill break it down into all the separate problems i think im having.

my first one would be with my fretting (left) hand. mostly, i keep my thumb up by the top of the fretboard, sometimes with it hanging over the top if i play on the d and g strings and need to mute the e and a strings. recently, ive been trying to keep my thumb on the back of the fretboard (like my guitarists), near the stripe on the back, but that makes it impossible to mute strings that i dont use.

i also have problems with releasing notes on the fretting hand. if i want to play short, stacato (sp?) quarter notes or something, i play the note, then release it with my fretting hand, and it always gets this awkward buzz right at the end of the note. i wish i could record it, but alas, i dont have a computer mic :( . should i be muting with my playing (right) hand, instead of my fretting one? i tried that, but its really awkward.