Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Technique v. Theory books.

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by funk_engineer, Dec 1, 2001.

1. Well, I've been searching through the forums for quite some time now and haven't come up with a good answer to my question. You see, I will not be able to get a steady teacher for at least a couple of months or maybe even more (I'm new to the bass guitar.) However, I do know a fair amount of music theory from playing trombone, enough to get me by for now. I want to find a book (or books) on bass instruction that are more geared towards technique (dexterity, hand position, different ways of sounding notes, fretting hand positions, and exercises that work these) than theory. A lot of the beginner's books seem to spend only a couple pages on this sort of thing, and then the rest goes into using theory to write bass lines. I'm not saying I wouldn't mind getting some more theory, since all I have to do is learn to apply it to bass, but technique would be more beneficial to me.
    Got any ideas as far as books that would help me here? For example, would Mel Bay's Complete Book of Bass Essentials be good for this, or is it mostly music theory?
    Sorry if this post comes out a little wordy; I'm pretty groggy right now. Thanks for your time.

-Neil

2. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member

I've been pondering your question. I see what you mean by the fact that many bass instruction books give short shrift to tecnique, then pass on to creating bass lines.

I'm wondering, though, what technique you want. Are you interested in the best way to fret notes or the best way to to apply right hand techniques, such as pick versus finger? Are you interested in slapping and tapping...two techniques I think a beginner should postpone until they have the basics of theory and fingerboard knowledge better in mind.