1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Techniques to help you figure out basslines from a song?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by eunomi, Mar 21, 2009.

1. eunomi

eunomi

Mar 21, 2009
    Hello,

I'm a first-time poster, so please excuse me if this is the wrong section to ask this question.

I'm also a guitarist trying to learn to play the bass. So far, I find it immensely gratifying. I used to play drums, so getting back to an instrument where groove is point number one is a nice feeling.

The question I have is, I'm trying to learn bass by playing along to songs/CDs/etc. I always found this was the most effective way to learn guitar, so I figured the same would go with bass (although a much different song selection).

I'm having problem picking out which notes the bassist plays on some records where there's not much attack in the bass tone. Dub music is a big "offender" here. I'm wondering if anyone has tricks I could do to aid myself here.

I'm very technical minded, so if it requires a lot of processing in a DAW, I'm good there. However, if there's a butt-simple way to do it, I'm down for that, too.

Thanks!

2. allexcosta

allexcosta

Apr 7, 2004
    Ear training...

3. cowsgomoo

cowsgomoo gone to Longstanton Spice Museum

Feb 8, 2003
    UK
    by ear, wherever possible... after that, if you need technical help:

the way I do it for really hard tunes like the Zappa stuff (see my sig) is to import the audio into Cubase... match the tempo bar-by-bar so the music is aligned to Cubase's bar grid

you can then isolate individual bars, beats or even single notes.... set them looping and it's fairly easy to pick out right notes, even in a flurry of fast ones... the lack of top end or attack on dub bass shouldn't make much difference using this method

this is a very microscopic way of working but the results speak for themselves

4. Eunomi said;