Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

teeny fingers!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Syrinx 026, Mar 11, 2002.

1. i started playing about 2 or 3 months ago (wow its already been 3 months..) and i'm beginning to notice that my hands are really small! all the other bass players i know have huge hands that can cover the neck, no sweat. but i just have normal girl hands...is this going to affect how well i can play? i hope not...:eek: :D getting the frets is a little tough, and pressing the strings all the way down is tricky too. i guess i just have to buff up my hands?

do you have any tips or tricks of the trade as to how i can make these petite little girl hands play the bass like a man?

well maybe thats not the best way to put it...:D

2. Don't sweat it. I'm a guy and I have hands the size of the average girl... a 15 year old girl, that is. I have only one thing to say about that and that is: It doesn't matter. Not in the long run anyway. As you practise your fingers will become more agile and stronger, you may have to do a few more position shifts than the next player but that's not a problem.

On building up finger strength and agility, I saw the following exercise in a post a few days ago, I can't remember who posted it but it's a good one. Play all the notes on frets one to four on all the strings, and then go back.

In tab :p: E|-1-2-3-4-| repeat for A, D and G. (Plus whatever strings you may have in addition to those)

Then start the same sequence on the second fret. The problem is I can't remember when to stop :D, go on for as far as you want I guess, but try to got to at least fret 7. This adds both to your strength and agility. (I'm told, haven't been doing it for so long). Another way to train finger strength is to get a guitar and play some barre chords. I did that before I got my bass and I think it has really helped me.